Riddikulus: My Thoughts on Harry Potter (finally)

Ladies and Germs, may I have your attention please?  I have something I feel I must admit to y’all. Are you ready? Are you sitting down? Maybe you should throw down a shot of whiskey before I drop this knowledge on ya.

I did not like the Harry Potter series.

BAM! Mind = blown

I went into it with disproportionately heightened expectations because of all the hype around the books/movies over the past, what, 15 years? But, umm, I wasn’t a huge fan.

There’s nothing to really point to in the series and say, “Aha! That part, that one right there, turned me against the entire series!” There just wasn’t much that appealed to me. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been reading urban fantasy, paranormal, whatever-you-want-to-call-it genre of books for years. The world Rawlings created wasn’t a new experience for me. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t get into those books where they’ve created an entirely new world or the characters have really freaky names that even Russians couldn’t pronounce (I did, however, read Sergei Lukyanenko’s Night Watch series, loved it, and could almost follow the Russian names!). I’m just having trouble seeing the amazing, cult-worthy-ness of the Harry Potter series.

Sigh.

I’m sorry but I HATED the ending! This was supposed to be a children’s book! Did (spoiler alert!) Lupin, Tonks and Fred really need to die? Especially considering the fact that like ten pages later the series was over? You don’t see any of the aftermath of the war against Voldemort and I had kind of hoped we would. Sure we get a glimpse into Harry’s life nineteen years later but it appears as if nothing in the wizarding world has changed. You’d think after the mass destruction and mayhem that Voldemort wrought there’d be some ripple effects still prevalent in day-to-day life.

11 thoughts on “Riddikulus: My Thoughts on Harry Potter (finally)

  1. It’s interesting to read a perspective of someone who didn’t like the books. I think it’s funny because I think fans have more of a problem with the sweet, everything’s okay epilogue than they do with the deaths at the end of the series.

    • I think I could accept the deaths if the epilogue had been better – it just felt like a cop out and didn’t ring true. I just hope that I don’t get stoned by crazed fans for my opinions lol

    • I don’t disagree with that – but I do feel the epilogue cheapened it somehow. I think I’d feel better about the deaths if the epilogue showed some ramifications/consequences of that whole Voldemort thing 😉

  2. I can see how someone who saw the books’ popularity from the outside could read it and be disappointed. The books are written in an increasing levels of difficulties, so the earlier books are much simpler in writing styles, themes and plot than the later ones. Some people find the first two books inexcusably boring and childish, or find the dark tone in the later books jarring.

    Much of the popularity also had to do with the long wait times. We had long breaks between the book releases where we came up with theories and explanations and learned more about the world that might not be explained in the books. We had such high expectations that many fans don’t like how the last book or two books turned out, but still love the series for what they took from the first five or six books.

    Wow, that ended up longer than I intended. I really just mean to say that here’s one diehard HP fan who doesn’t blame you for being disappointed.

  3. Is it ok to comment on two-week old threads if we JUST discovered this blog from your link on Snarky today? Because I am so happy to read that other people didn’t like the ending of Harry Potter. I was not upset about the deaths of some minor characters, but rather by the “happily ever after” epilogue.

    I think it’s more than okay for characters to die in a kids’ book and we (as a society) didn’t use to be squeamish about this. Exhibit 1: Old Yeller. Who didn’t read or watch that as a kid and cry their damn eyes out? And then want to go back and read or watch again? Being moved emotionally by fiction is a marvelous experience for children. My favourite childhood movie was a pre-Disney version of The Little Mermaid, which sticks true to the fairy tale… she does not get the man, and is turned into foam on the sea. I would bawl my little eyes out and then watch it again and bawl again. Wonderful.

    So I think the problem was not too many deaths but not enough! Harry should have died. He should have defeated Voldemort, but been killed in doing so. Sacrificing himself to save the world. There’s a true literary ending. Would have been sad but a million times more satisfying than this saccharine grows-up-gets-married-becomes-boring business.

    • Definitely ok! Comment on whatever you like! 🙂 hehe

      I don’t have anything against death in novels – I just feel it needs to serve a purpose. Old Yeller wouldn’t have been Old Yeller if the dog hadn’t died. What I’m thinking of was actually pretty well spelled out in the movie Stranger Than Fiction. Wherein, the book would be brilliant if she killed off Harold Crick, but it looses something because she didn’t. A death of a character should have an impact, serve a purpose. I felt those deaths in Harry Potter were pointless. I think a part of the reason I was so disappointed with the epilogue was because it didn’t tell us more about Lupin and Tonks’ son. Again, goes back to those ripple effects you would have expected from surviving the likes of Voldemort. Even though their child was just a baby, his life was forever changed by Voldemort and his actions. I felt the epilogue should have given us a little more insight into that.

Leave a Reply

