Review: Beautiful Bastard

Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard, #1)Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

There’s something about fan fic that grates on my nerves. Granted, the only resemblance to Twilight in this book was the names… and yet that was enough to set my teeth on edge. Chloe was nothing like Bella. Bennett had some Edward like tendencies, but not enough to really draw a parallel between the two characters.

The animosity between Chloe and Bennett was well done, well set up. I had a hard time with the way their affair started though. I would have thought that two people with such passion would have gone for it in the middle of a screaming match or something, not a surreptitious hand to the ass while neither of them were even speaking.

I did enjoy the strong heroine though – a nice change from some of the other books I’ve read recently. And I loved that she came back after running away from a somewhat compromising scene. She trusted their feelings for each other and was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt (personal pet peeve: can’t stand it when someone claims to be in love with someone else and yet still believes the worst in them before even talking to them about what they saw).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

