Review: Strangers

Strangers Strangers by Barbara Elsborg

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As much as I hate to admit it, I loved the book (I hate admitting I have a sappy or sensitive side). I loved Kate’s character – her devilish quips, the fact that she never once tried to be someone she wasn’t and she never changed even as she fell in love with Charlie. And yet, there was still character growth – Kate fell in love and put herself out there trying to win Charlie back after Ethan manipulated them.

I found Charlie to be a bit annoying – on the childish side and naive about his manager. He allowed Ethan to do too much for him, trusted him with too much. Part of me thought he’d be more jaded and wouldn’t have handed so much control over to anyone. Another part of me, however, thinks that Charlie was just desperate to have someone, anyone, he could trust unconditionally and he put his faith in the wrong person. Then of course, I think that he should have known better than to have put such blind faith in someone who stood to make money off him…

That all said, Charlie’s character made sense to me. His life, his history lend credibility to his choices and the psychology behind it added up – at least it did for me.

I really liked that this book focused on the characters and their history and how that history dictated their present but didn’t have to rule their future. I find a lot of books are more concerned with plot to the point that they forget about proper and compelling characterization. That is not to say that this book let plot fall to the wayside. It was definitely a page turner.

This book made me laugh out loud, I even found myself grinning a time or two (damn you! lol) and when the big crisis hit I wanted to cry. It sent me through an emotional spiral that I didn’t particularly enjoy (that’s a personal issue, I don’t like emotions, normal people probably love that crap) but I still loved the book and highly recommend it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

