Are You Seeing Anyone?

It’s the question that every single girl gets tired of hearing after a while. Just four little words can cause uncontrollable shuddering, cringing, maybe even a facial tick.

“Are you seeing anyone?”

Recently I met up with some former coworkers. We try to get together monthly for dinners but it’s typically hit or miss whether I can make it or not. I hadn’t seen them in a couple months so when I finally did arrive, late of course, and all the commotion died down and normal conversation resumed, one of my former work moms started a side conversation with me.

We talked about work and how that was going for both of us. She asked what’s new and I told her. Then the dreaded pause. I knew what was coming next. I had my canned response prepared. What I wasn’t prepared for was the fact that she couldn’t utter those four simple words without laughing at me!

Apparently I’m so chronically single that she can no longer keep a straight face when asking the (apparently mandatory) question, “Are you seeing anyone?”

COME ON!

It’s not that difficult. Or at least it shouldn’t be. Aren’t people supposed to want you to be in a successful, healthy relationship? Isn’t that why they ask? Now I can’t help but think that she’s asking me because there’s some sort of betting pool and she won that round.

Now I can’t help but wonder what’ll happen next time because I plan on answering in the affirmative for once. It’ll be a total lie but I kind of want to see her jaw drop 😉

Leave a Reply

